pasterpuzzle.blogg.se

Luther vandross songs listen
Luther vandross songs listen





luther vandross songs listen

If you watch the old Showtime at the Apollo shows, you are sure to see a handful of participants attempting this song. Oh, my love A million days in your arms is never too much I just don’t wanna stop” Oh, my love A thousand kisses from you is never too much I just don’t wanna stop

#Luther vandross songs listen how to#

I still remember in the days when I scared to touch you How I spent my day dreamin’ plannin’ how to say I love you You must have known that I had feelings deep enough to swim in That’s when you opened up your heart and you told me to come in Memorable Lyrics: “I can’t fool myself, I don’t want nobody else to ever love me You are my shinin’ star, my guiding light, my love fantasy There’s not a minute, hour, day or night that I don’t love you You’re at the top of my list ’cause I’m always thinkin’ of you Since the release of the song, it has been sampled by various artists, as well as appears in the 2002 Grand Theft Auto: Vice City video game. A music video accompanied the song, showcasing Vandross while he sung and worked in the recording studio.

luther vandross songs listen

The song reached the #1 position on the R&B charts. How could you not shake your head or the rest of your body when you hear this song? Vandross made his first solo record with this title track. In chronological order, I have listed the top ten Luther Vandross songs that I play over and over again when I feel like “getting in the mood” or reminiscing on good times. He was a great singer-songwriter, as well as record producer, who could play the piano and violin. The soothing, rather recognizable voice of Vandross has earned him the Best Male R&B Vocal Performance four times, as well as the Grammy for Song of the Year for his memorable and touching song, “Dance With My Father,” which was co-written with adult contemporary singer, Richard Marx.ĭuring his lifetime, Vandross’ body of work includes a little more than 20 different albums, presenting an array of R&B, dance, pop and soul tracks. His songs are his legacy and will keep him alive each time someone listens to his songs.With an impressive list of Grammy-award winning creations, selling more than 25 million albums, for many, Luther Vandross embodies the perfect R&B crooner. Everything about his work will continue to influence musicians who come after him. Additionally, he performed in numerous charity concerts. He worked with the United Negro College Fund and the NY Chapter of the American Diabetes Association. Not only was he a successful musician he was also extensively involved in charity work. At the time of his death, thirteen of fourteen studio albums had either gone platinum or double platinum. He released eleven consecutive platinum albums. From 1981 to 2005, he consistently topped R & R&B charts, something another artist has not achieved. His death ended a thirty-five years long career in the music and entertainment industry. Most importantly, he had the rare gift, the ability to write about love honestly. He had an incredible talent for writing lyrics, a voice that was smooth and lilting. Luther Vandross was everything a singer-songwriter should aspire to be. Over time it has become a classic song at weddings. He recorded the song at New York’s Hit Factory under Nat Adderly Jr’s direction, one of two original songs on his two-disc greatest hits album. Warwick’s son came in and asked Vandross to listen to his demo tape the second song was this smash hit. Vandross and Dionne Warwick were playing Pac-Man when this song fell into his lap. These are ten of the best songs by Luther Vandross. Posthumously, the album won four Grammy’s. Before the release of Dance With My Father, Vandross had a stroke and passed away. The Supremes were one of his first musical influences. Besides singing, he was also a producer on albums for Dionne Warwick and Aretha Franklin. As his career evolved, he became part of a crossover genre known as contemporary urban music. The following year he won a Grammy for both the song Power of Love/Love Power and the album of the same name. The album Never Too Much launched his career in 1981, giving him the beginning of a long career as an American soul and pop singer. He also wrote the song Everybody Rejoice for the Broadway musical, The Wiz, in 1972. The first incarnation of his career was singing jingles and background vocals. While growing up on Manhattan’s Lower Eastside, his mother encouraged him to play music. Luther Vandross was born Luther Ronzoni Vandross on April 20, 1951, in New York.







Luther vandross songs listen